Skip to content

{mY cReaTivE spAcE}

November 15, 2009
tags: ,

Finally, with the push of having clients over for their print ordering session (first clients in several months!), I got my office in order. I had painted it way back in June, then bought a work table, and brought in bookshelves from the garage, but I was waiting for money to come so that I could buy a decent desk and I was going to try making my own picture frames. Well, neither the desk nor the picture frames happened. I decided to get a little more creative about it, and came up with this awesome idea for the pictures, which was actually inspired by a visit to my friend Lisa’s office several months ago. Basically, you can hang several pictures for just a few bucks (see below). The desk is still on my wish list, as well as some curtains for the window and maybe a table lamp to go on top of my file cabinet to replace the big ugly floor lamp. Till then…


Filing cabinet corner before I painted it. (The room was a bright blue before we primed it white, so it was much uglier than this to begin with.)


Same corner after being painted light grey and cleaned up.


Ugly can see some of the bright blue down by the baseboard.


Lovely bookcase filled with a small selection from my hoards of books. I saved the two bottom shelves for toys and kids books.

The door corner. Okay, not really the corner. But there is the closet that I did not take an 'after' picture of because it looks virtually the same.

The door corner. Okay, not really the corner. But there is the closet that I did not take an 'after' picture of because it looks virtually the same.


The door corner after. Notice the hanging pictures? The line of pictures goes all the way across the back wall.


Computer corner before.


Computer corner after. (The good news is that I knew exactly where I wanted all of the furniture before we even bought the house.) Still need a new desk.


'Gallery' wall before...


Gallery wall after. This is where I put all the large prints of Michael (and a couple other kiddos) that I thought I was going to frame.


For the hanging of the prints, I made a 'clothesline' using hemp twine and used plain wooden clothes pins to hang them. So easy! And extremely easy to switch them out for new ones. Waaaaay cheaper than buying frames.


The window alcove before....


My lovely, lovely, wonderful workspace after. Just needs curtains.

I feel like I can breathe in this room. I also moved all my craft, photo, and office supplies up from the garage and put them in the closet (they were already in plastic storage drawers). Now that everything is clean, pretty, and accessible I’ve been very much in the mood to work in here–to finish old projects and start on new ones. Here’s one that I’m working on…


Wooden letters that I am painting and sticking magnets on for Michael to play with and to become familiar with.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 2:20 pm

    *Gasp* I love it! Oh, I so want to come over and do something (sew, paint, scrap, whatever) by that window! What a wonderful space to be creative in. And I am SO going to use that photo hanging idea for my daughter’s room. Love, love, love it.

  2. Jessie permalink
    November 16, 2009 2:27 pm

    I love before & afters!! good job lisa

  3. November 16, 2009 11:41 pm

    Ooooo…can you come make over my office, too? I know what you mean about being able to breathe in a room, and we are sadly not there yet. I love the clothesline idea for hanging pictures. One thing that stops me from hanging lots of pictures is the frame shortage. I’ll have to consider this one!

  4. November 17, 2009 6:44 pm

    Yay! I just love this Lisa! Great transformation! It’s such a deeply satisfying feeling transforming one’s creative space. I just adore your little sewing area with its lovely window.

    Before and afters make my day! Heheh. Lovely work.

  5. November 18, 2009 2:56 pm

    Such a pretty room now! The picture lines are really a nice touch. I’m thinking craigslist free section for a desk?

  6. November 19, 2009 9:59 am

    Love it Lisa! The sewing corner by the window is just precious and the picture line is a lovely idea. You’re giving me ideas now!

  7. March 30, 2010 12:15 am

    YAY, all of your own! Love the workspace! Great light there too.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

